Text Resize
Print This
Email This
Request Illustration
Download Brochure

Multi-Generational Giving

Multi-Generational Giving

Meet the Zelmans

Many Jewish Cleveland families are seeking ways to engage in multi-generational philanthropy. We asked Ann Garson, Managing Director of Funds and Foundations at the Jewish Federation of Cleveland to explain the recent surge of interest.

WHY IS MULTI-GENERATIONAL GIVING BECOMING MORE POPULAR?
Across the nation, the largest transfer of wealth from one generation to the next is taking place. Parents and grandparents are realizing they haven't shared their underlying motivations and meaning behind their giving. They seek to be understood, to involve the next generation, and to pass on thier cherished values.

HOW CAN THE FEDERATION HELP?
We are helping families get these conversations started. They know how to transfer valuables, but how do they pass on values?

We create a safe space where trust is built and all family members can participate equally. We facilitate healthy collaborative family discussions around philanthropic goals, priorities, and values. Ultimately, we help navigate how a family legacy can continue on.

A family foundation can provide the structure and environment where multi-generational philanthropy can evolve and grow. It's just one way that a family can engage to make an impact.

WHAT IS THE OUTCOME?
When a family engages in multi-generational giving, they are changed by it. They listen to each other and share in new ways across generations in a safe setting.

Really, the process is the product. And, it's happening here through a Jewish lens.



We Asked the Zelmans to Describe Their Experience

DAN

Legacy - Bringing our adult children into the conversation helps them to see what we value and helps to ensure that they continue it beyond our lifetimes.

ELLEN

Gratitude - Through our family foundation, each family member has a voice and the Federation facilitates and enhances our giving back to the community.

ANDREW

Heartfelt - Family philanthropy brings us closer as we listen to each other and discuss grantmaking that will have impact on others.

BRETT

Rewarding - Working together as a family in philanthropy allows us to see our morals and values go from an individual level to a shared family value.

KARA

Togetherness - It is amazing to work together as a family, compromising sometimes to make sure we are all satisfied with the grant decisions.



More Info
Print This
Email This
Request Illustration
Download Brochure
scriptsknown

Contact Us

Erika B. Rudin-Luria 216-593-2867 erudin-luria@jcfcleve.org
Rachel Lappen 216-593-2841 rlappen@jcfcleve.org
Carol Wolf 216-593-2805 cwolf@jcfcleve.org
Ann Garson 216-593-2814 agarson@jcfcleve.org
Matthew Kaliff 216-593-2831 mkaliff@jcfcleve.org
Hedy Milgrom 216-593-2850 hmilgrom@jcfcleve.org
Janet Shapiro 216-593-2875 jshapiro@jcfcleve.org
Jennifer Schwarz 216-593-2816 jschwarz@jcfcleve.org

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2022 Crescendo Interactive, Inc. PRIVACY STATEMENT
This site is informational and educational in nature. It is not offering professional tax, legal, or accounting advice.
For specific advice about the effect of any planning concept on your tax or financial situation or with your estate, please consult a qualified professional advisor.