» Ways to Give » 
Text Resize
Print
Email
Subsribe to RSS Feed

Thursday October 18, 2018

Washington News

Washington Hotline

Social Security Benefits Increase by 2.8% in 2019

The Social Security Administration recently announced the cost-of-living increase for Social Security benefits in 2019. The 2.8% increase is the largest boost in six years. The cost-of-living increase was 0% in 2016, 0.3% in 2017 and 2% in 2018. Over 67 million Americans receive Social Security and will enjoy an increased check in January of 2019.

The average 2018 Social Security payment of $1,400 per month will increase by about $39. Social Security recipients with larger payouts will appreciate a greater increase in the value of their benefits.

Military retirees will also receive a 2.8% cost-of-living increase. Veterans benefits for disability pay and dependents' compensation will also benefit from the 2.8% increase.

House Veterans Affairs Committee Chairman Phil Roe (R-TN) was clearly pleased with the decision by Congress to pass legislation to give military retirees and veterans the 2.8% increase. Because the increases in military benefits are not automatic like the Social Security changes, they require an act of Congress. Roe stated, "So many veterans rely on disability compensation payments to make ends meet, and this cost-of-living adjustment means they will be able to continue to do so."

The Center for Medicare and Medicaid announced increased Medicare Part B premiums for 2019 this week. The basic Medicare premium will increase by $1.50 from $134 to $135.50 per month.

Low-income Social Security recipients (about 4% or 2 million individuals) will pay less than $135.50. Their Medicare premium is limited to the increase in Social Security.

Upper-income recipients of Social Security (about 5% or 3 million individuals) will pay higher Medicare premiums. The Medicare premium surcharge is based on modified adjusted gross income (MAGI).

Single filers with MAGI over $85,000 and married couples filing jointly over $170,000 will pay a Medicare surcharge. For single taxpayers, the Medicare premium increases to $189.60 with MAGI over $85,000. The single filer surcharge tops out with a total monthly cost of $460.50 if MAGI is over $500,000.

For married couples with MAGI over $750,000, the Medicare surcharge is $460.50 per month. The annual Medicare premium for these couples is $11,052.


Published October 12, 2018
Print
Email
Subsribe to RSS Feed

Previous Articles

October 15 Tax Extension Deadline

Avoiding Tax Scams Before October 15

IRS Relief for Hurricane Florence Victims

Protect Yourself from Hurricanes, Floods and Tornadoes

Warning Signs of Data Theft

scriptsknown

Contact Us

Steve Hoffman 216-593-2900 shoffman@jcfcleve.org
Hedy Milgrom 216-593-2850 hmilgrom@jcfcleve.org
Carol Wolf 216-593-2805 cwolf@jcfcleve.org
Ann Garson 216-593-2814 agarson@jcfcleve.org
Matthew Kaliff 216-593-2831 mkaliff@jcfcleve.org
Janet Shapiro 216-593-2875 jshapiro@jcfcleve.org
Jennifer Schwarz 216-593-2816 jschwarz@jcfcleve.org
Michael Cole 216-593-2795 mcole@jcfcleve.org
Lisa Hacker 216-593-2792 Lhacker@jcfcleve.org
Jessie Bruder 216-593-2869 jbruder@jcfcleve.org

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2018 Crescendo Interactive, Inc. PRIVACY STATEMENT
This site is informational and educational in nature. It is not offering professional tax, legal, or accounting advice.
For specific advice about the effect of any planning concept on your tax or financial situation or with your estate, please consult a qualified professional advisor.